2012 Honda Civic Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2022)

Alex Showalter

Jan 17, 2022

The 2012 Honda Civic is a compact car offered as a coupe and sedan with a price range of $7,903 to $15,948. A combination of responsive engines, all-new infotainment, and no serious mechanical problems help the 2012 Civic stand out as a great choice.

2012 Honda Civic Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (1)

The Good

Long-lasting engines are available, the driving experience is sportier and more fun than other compact cars, and safety scores are fantastic for the size.

The Bad

The infotainment system is complicated to use, the cabin is noisier than other compact cars, and there’s less cargo space than rivals.

2012 Honda Civic: Quick Overview

  • The 2012 Honda Civic is completely redesigned with an all-new interior, exterior, and powertrain choices.
  • Reliability ratings are great, but there are more complaints than the older 2011 model.
  • Two 4-cylinder engines are available, including a more powerful engine found in the Si model.
  • Fuel economy is great, scoring 2nd out of 36 compact cars with a combined rating of up to 32 miles per gallon.
  • Safety scores are excellent with a perfect 5-star rating in government crash tests and a Top Safety Pick award from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
  • The 2012 Honda Civic ranks 12th out of 36 compact cars, based on owner reviews. With reliable engine choices, and a fun driving experience, the Civic stands out as a great choice.

Expert Ratings

KBB

3.8/5

US News

9.1/10

Positive Owner Reviews

Katherine L

Great reliable small car, perfect for people who live in the city.

I love my civic, it is extremely reliable. We have not had an maintenance issues in the five years we have owned it. My only complaint is that it is small, but in the city that is also an asset. Very easy to park and maneuver. The backseat is a bit small for a car seat.

Euan B

Small trunk because of the batteries and the cabin noise is a little loud on the highway.

Great gas mileage but cabin noise is a bit loud. Mine is a hybrid and the batteries take up a good bit of trunk space.

Cheryl P

Dependable, efficient and reliable the Honda Civic is a great Buy.

My Honda Civic has been very dependable. Gas mileage has been consistently efficient. The car is comfortable and easy to handle.

debi c

Good on gas and they are good running cars.

Low mileage when i got the car and it's been great since then.

William B

My car gets great gas mileage. 40 miles to the gallon.

I like the way it handles on the road.I like the color which is blue. I don't like the fact it doesn't have bluetooth.

Joan W

It is dependable and will last for years with little upkeep.

I like that my vehicle is dependable. I like that my vehicle was relatively affordable. I like that Honda's are well designed. I like that they last a long time. I do not like that it is a bit of a "kid's car."

Lola S

Civic is such an efficient vehicle with it's safety and handling.

My Civic is my safe haven. It keeps me safe every ride.

Nick M

My civic is dependable, great on gas, and rides great.

My Civic is very dependable. Never had to have any work done on it other than regular servicing. The gas mileage is great and there is a surprising amount of legroom for taller guys like me.

Negative Owner Reviews

Lisa S

The grey Honda civic has a sleek and attractive exterior.

Not being able to get parts easily due to it being a Japanese car. Runs a good enough distance on a full tank of gas and back. Slick features, had a grey color. Seats could be a different material. Tires last a long while. Problems with mine was the battery failing me on and off.

Maria A

It is red and small. It is perfect for a person with no kids.

Nothings wrong with it is just very uncomfortable with two kids. It is in perfect condition. Tinted windows, very clean, it is red no rooftop heated seats. It is just not for me I am looking forward to trading it in. Hondas are very good cars I would recommend it to anyone.

Kimberly Q

Love and hate relationship.

My car has a pretty bad blind spot. The digital features have also been pretty irritating when they happen. And when I bring them in it is hundreds of dollars to repair. There is no touchscreen navigation that are now features on the new models. Other than that it is been pretty reliable.

Leah P

The Little Engine That Won't

It's way too small in every way. The motor doesn't like to go. I could have the pedal to the floor and it won't go above 30, or shift when it's supposed to, for that matter. I always hit my head getting in or out of it, just a tiny car. My mechanics always tell me though that it's a great car and will run forever.

Casey M

I enjoy how my car gets me from point A to point B.

My Honda Civic just does not have the get up and go that I want in a vehicle. The seats are small, narrow, and uncomfortable to where my butt hurts after driving periods of time. I drive a lot so this aspect is large for period. My gas cap in the winter gets frozen shut. The way the windshield wipers go are bother me as well. Small backseat and gas tank. No sunroof and no Bluetooth abilities. When changing oil, it is position in the most awkward spot and hard to get to.

Rob M

The Civic Hybrid is a very fragile car with challenging maintenance issues.

I have a Civic Hybrid. While it does get great gas mileage, maintenance on it is ridiculous. I have had to replace the AC 4 times and parts are not easy to get. It rides very low and pieces of the undercarriage are always breaking. No one ever has parts in stock, even a simple air filter always has to be special ordered.

Leah S

It is too tiny of a car, but she goes so smoothly!

It goes really well for having such a small engine. It is great on gas! It is just way too small of a vehicle physically. Amazingly reliable, this thing will never die! Always starts right up, even in below 0 weather! It runs great and really smooth.

Breann J

(Video) Problems to Look Out for When Buying a Used Honda Civic

Honda civic love but hate.

I liked my car in the beginning but as time goes on I hate it. The car does not drive well in heavy rain or wind. There has been some problems with the acceleration on the freeway. I might have purchased a lemon though. It also takes forever to warm up. Defrosting in the winter takes a long time so be prepared for that.

What Problems Does the 2012 Honda Civic Have?

The 2012 Honda Civic has an average number of complaints compared to other compact cars in the same price range. There are more problems than the newer 2013 model, where some issues are fixed.

Uncomfortable seats are the most common complaint from owners of Honda Accord and Civic. Some people find the seats unsupportive and replace the cushioning, or add more pillows to the seats for long drives.

Chipping paint is another common issue. The paint chips easily when the curing process fails at the factory. Repainting the affected panels is the only way to fix the issue, costing about $1,000 per panel depending on local labor rates.

Excessive oil consumption is another frequent problem. Some owners report replacing the piston rings fixes the issue, and in other cases the oil consumption is just normal for the engine. There’s also a technical service bulletin for the oil pressure rocker arm. Prices range from $350 to over $1,000, depending on the source of the problem.

There are 3 recalls, which is better than other cars from 2012. The recalls include a fuel feed line, driveshaft, and incorrect steering column. Most serious is the driveshaft issue, since a failure can lead to a loss of power.

What are the Prices, Models & Specs?

The 2012 Honda Civic is average-priced compared to other compact cars with a range of $7,903 to $15,948 depending on the model and mileage. When new, the price was $15,755 to $27,805. The Civic holds value better than other compact cars, only losing about 35% of the original value over the first 5 years.

  • DX is the entry-level model with 15-inch steel wheels, power windows, manual door locks, and air conditioning.
  • LX is next in the lineup and has 15-inch alloy wheels, power door locks, keyless entry, cruise control, and an AM/FM/CD stereo system with AUX and USB inputs as well as 4 speakers.
  • EX adds some features including 16-inch alloy wheels, disc brakes on the rear wheels, automatic headlights, folding back seats, a sunroof, and a 7-speaker stereo system.
  • EX-L is the flagship luxury version adding leather seating, heated front seats, a leather steering wheel, and interior trim improvements.
  • Si focuses heavily on performance and has a larger engine, 17-inch alloy wheels, a new suspension, limited slip differential, and a spoiler.

DX Coupe

140 HP 32-34 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

DX Sedan

140 HP 31-32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

LX Sedan

140 HP 31-32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

HF Sedan

140 HP 33 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

EX Coupe

140 HP 32-34 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

EX Sedan

140 HP 32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

EX-L Coupe

140 HP 34-34 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

How Long Will the 2012 Honda Civic Last?

A properly cared for 2012 Honda Civic will last over 250,000 miles, which is better than other compact cars. Regular annual maintenance costs are average for the class. Repair Pal estimates them to be $400 per year.

Annie B

The brakes require more effort to use than in other cars I have driven. Additionally, because the car's engine is relatively small, I cannot accelerate as quickly as larger cars can.

Ross A

I have had the car for 3 years and it had one previous owner. I have the necessary maintenance and during the last check up, it only needed a belt replacement.

A M

My Honda does not give me any more problems than the usual automotive vehicle. I did have to change all four tires one year due to wear and tear.

David M

Yes, it is reliable. The only problem I had was with the brakes (after 7 years). And, again, I am very rough on my vehicles. So, to say I had a brakes issue: I have really not had any problems I didn't create or expect.

Don M

It is very reliable and the engine runs smoothly. Apparently, the left side driver door was damaged at one time because putting the electric window up causes the door to move inward just a bit.

Brenda A

I have had no problems with my Honda civic. It is very reliable and comfortable for a compact economy car.

Megan B

Very reliable. I have had minimal problems. Only some tire pressure issues which I have heard is common for Honda's in cooler weather.

Michelle C

I just answered this in the last question but yes the Honda civic is a very reliable car and it does not have any issues.

What Technology & Safety Features Are Included?

Technology is very basic in the 2012 Civic, and is missing some features found in other compact cars from the same year.

(Video) Can a Honda Civic Last 1,000,000 Miles, Let's Find Out

  • Base technology includes a 4-speaker AM/FM/CD stereo system with USB and AUX ports.
  • Optional upgrades include a 6.5-inch touchscreen navigation system, a 7-speaker stereo system, and Bluetooth connectivity.
  • Standard safety features include antilock brakes, stability control, and air bags. Optional upgrades include parking sensors.
2012 Honda Civic Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2)

What Engine Options are Available?

Performance in the 2012 Honda Civic is better than many of the competitors when you step up to the Si model. The larger engine takes the car from 0 to 60 miles per hour in 6.9 seconds.

  • The base engine is a 1.8L 4-cylinder with 140 horsepower.
  • An upgrade found in the Si model is the 2.4L 4-cylinder with 201 horsepower.

What Color Options are Available?

2012 Honda Civic Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (3)

How Big is the Civic?

The 2012 Honda Civic is a compact car, offered as both a coupe and a sedan. Passenger room is very cramped in the back seats of the coupe, and best suited to children. There’s more legroom in the sedan, but some other compact cars offer more room for adults in the back seats. Cargo space is good for the class with 12.5 cubic feet of room in the trunk of the sedan and 11.7 in the coupe. There’s enough room to fit 3 to 4 suitcases in both.

2012 Honda Civic Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (4)

How Does the 2012 Honda Civic Compare to Other Cars?

Ranking 12th out of 36 compact cars based on owner reviews, the 2012 Honda Civic is in the top third of the class.

A close competitor is the more expensive Toyota Corolla. The Corolla has fewer complaints from owners, and a lower cost of ownership. Where the Civic stands out is with more horsepower, and better technology options. Overall, the two cars are very close competitors and you can’t go wrong with either car. The choice just comes down to personal preference.

Another rival in the same price range is the Mazda3. The Mazda3 has a higher quality interior, and more powerful engine choices. Where the Civic comes out ahead is with better safety scores, and more up-to-date technology available. Either is a good choice and the final decision is up to the shopper.

Ranks #12 Small Cars by Owners

1

2012 Volkswagen GLI

4.8

2

2012 Volkswagen Eos

4.76

12

2012 Honda Civic

4.35

Final Verdict: Is the 2012 Honda Civic a Good Car?

Yes, the 2012 Honda Civic is a good car based on information from 1,554 verified owner reviews, and 15 government and automotive websites. The positives include great long-term reliability ratings compared to other cars, and excellent safety scores. Where the Civic loses out is with less passenger room than some rivals, and a cheaper interior with a lot of plastic components. Overall, the 2012 Civic is a good car for buyers looking for a fun-to-drive compact daily driver.

Owner Reviews

messageEdit Write a Review

Love My Honda!!

I love my car!! It’s roomy and has great gas mileage! I’ve had two prior Honda Civics. The first was a 1997 EX. I had it for 14 years and bought it when it was five years old. I was side impacted and it had to be totaled, but I guarantee that car would still be running today if it wasn’t destroyed! My next car was a 2005 Honda civic EX Special Edition. Good car, but the previous owner/original owner I believeGood car, but the previous owner/original owner I believe put a governor on it, so it had no pick-up/power, which was a bummer. Still, all in all, it was a good car. I bought my 2012 Honda Civic LX sedan a little over a year ago. It is the best! I make sure to get regular oil changes and pay attention to any maintenance Alerts that pop up, which have been only one and that was tire pressure. Honda will always be my car of choice! Love the acceleration too! I can get out of my own way!! LOL!

Jazmine B on June 25, 2021

Safe, reliable, comfortable car.

I love my car. It is very reliable. Currently has about 160,000 miles on it and still going! I have not had any mechanical issues since having the car until just recently noticing that the ball joints are starting to make clicking sounds.Vet comfortable inside. My family is growing so that is why I am looking into something bigger.

Gaurav G on June 24, 2021

Best feature is excellent fuel economy and good cargo space.

Honda civic has following cons: good mileage. Low maintenance. Cost is of medium budget. Honda civic reliability is absolutely stellar, in the league of the most reliable vehicles you can buy. A comfy and sporty ride. Good cabin space. Has high quality materials. Secure braking. Good cargo space.

Lindsay W on June 20, 2021

Love my civic! Great on gas, reliable.

I will always own a Honda. Reliable and great on gas mileage. The only issue I have is the blower motor on the ac can go bad and needs to be replaced sooner and more often. But it is a simple fix and inexpensive. Maintenance is inexpensive especially when getting regular oil changes and just taking care of the car overall.

Keon C on June 19, 2021

The Honda civic is super reliable and fuel efficient.

Performs very well. Runs well, the maintenance is easy, and the car is very reliable. It is fairly comfortable in the interior considering the size of the vehicle. Gas mileage is very good! One issue that has been there since I purchased the car is that the interior is warm even when the vents are open. The ac is always needed is the weather does not allow me to open the windows.

cisco V on June 18, 2021

Most reliable car, the car you need.

Very reliable, highly recommended. Very good on gas and hasn't given me any problems yet. For its age its very advanced. Very smooth drive. If you need a transportation car I say you need this car. Out of all cars I have ever had I will say this is the best car yet.

Dante P on June 18, 2021

The small problems you may encounter with your civic.

I love this car, however the main issue is that the roman system is always showing as faulty. Another common issue would be how fast the oil runs out and needs to be replaced. The car does perform very well, however it is type of tire needs to be replaced much more than the other standard vehicle. Overall this is a very great car with very few difficulties that are easily manageable.

Nina M on June 17, 2021

Bang for the buck- review of civics features.

Car is reliable, great on gas and a great value. I would go with Honda again. You have the options like sunroof and leather seats that make it feel more expensive. It is reputation says it all. Performance could be better but you trade economy for some faster performance.

Jared L on June 15, 2021

It is a decent car but I would be happy with a different one.

Had to replace the starter a few years back. I feel like it looks acceptable. Has gotten me across the country a couple of times. I do not take care of it like I should besides for the occasional oil change. It keeps going and I feel like it will last for years.

Lisa R on June 14, 2021

Okay on gas, but rides really low.

It is good on gas, however not as good as advertised. It was advertised as 44 highway mpg. The most I have ever gotten was 40 mpg, and that was in the first year of owning my vehicle. Every year it has gone down from there. Now, almost 8 years later, I am averaging 29 mpg. Also, it runs really low to the ground which is annoying for visibility and hitting potholes and grooves in the road.

Justin V on June 13, 2021

(Video) Honda Civics and Toyota Corollas You Shouldn’t Buy

Comfortable, reliable, and gets great mileage.

Very reliable. Only minor issues with around 150,000 miles. Needed new alternator, but otherwise no major repairs. Uses in wheel tire pressure sensors, that show a warning when tire pressure is low. These are not super expensive, but the batteries in the sensors go out and it cost around 100 dollars per wheel to replace. Not super fast, but plenty of power for merging on the interstate. Very comfortable to drive and gets excellent gas mileage.

Cori B on June 12, 2021

Great car overall, just minor details.

The car is reliable and affordable. It may be uncomfortable, if you have a large family. It is a very small car. Great for a college student. The gas mileage is excellent. I had the car for 4 years and have not had any trouble with it. Trunk space is good size. It does not pull hills that well.

Chris S on June 12, 2021

Love this car get it if you like stick.

It is a good looking car but stick shift is not for me. If you like stick shift I’d recommend this car. 2012 Honda civic si. The ride is pretty comfortable the rims are nice the handling is very good. The car is very fast. 10 / 10 would recommend getting this car.

Raymond S on June 11, 2021

Gas mileage and performance.

Great performance handles well on the road and doesn't take much to fill up and gets great mileage on the highway. Most reliable car and last a while without any repairs needing done. Has many features on dashboard to let u know what is wrong with your car while driving. Hondas are also affordable and low monthly payments. Brakes are also very good.

Kira B on June 9, 2021

M vehicle is like a classic unique but valuable.

My vehicle to me is awesome starting from the model exterior and the performance. Thg he model drives smooth but diligently to meet the speed of my acceptance. To me it ensures reliability making me feel secure about driving the vehicle. I would highly recommend this making and model of car to someone who loves edginess but also reassurance of car safety with this model of car.

Ryan W on June 8, 2021

Very good starter car, starter problem later in life span.

Very reliable, great gas mileage, but very small. Then again it is a coupe which makes sense. I would prefer more room in the vehicle but I understand what I purchased. The seats stain somewhat easily, but the ac is solid along with the heat. Starter went out last year but otherwise have had no issues with the car as a whole.

Justin M on June 6, 2021

2012 civic lx sedan, gun metal.

It's pretty good. I have been able haul some firewood, bikes, luggage and other stuff without many complaints. The 2012 civic is a bit ugly but it gets me places. My 2012 is quite outdated and I have thought about trading it in but didn't bother. I do like the mpg but wish it had a sunroof.

Clarissa B on June 4, 2021

Honda civic is a very reliable and cute car.

The Honda civic is such a great car! It has a nice clean look and has great gas mileage. This car is a great reliable car that will keep going for years. The Honda civic has a lot of room and is very spacious. The back seat is big enough for people with long legs and the trunk has so much room as well!

Abby D on June 3, 2021

No problems after 110,000 miles.

Reliable. No major breakdowns, just general maintenance. Most expensive fix has been replacing alternator. Have replaced breaks. Is a manual transmission that runs well in snow. Have only gotten stuck in snow a foot plus deep. Good fuel mileage. Have over 110,000 miles on it already with little to no problems.

Kaleigh A on June 1, 2021

Very dependable and fuel efficient vehicle.

My vehicle is very dependable and reliable. It is also very fuel efficient and comfortable. The price is really good too. The maintenance is very cost effective. Also, my vehicle is very stylish and up to date. It is a great vehicle if you want something that you can depend on and that will last for awhile too.

Mary P on May 31, 2021

Very reliable first car, or travel car.

My 2012 Honda civic lx is a very reliable car. It has gotten me through 4 years of school and driving. Gas mileage runs anywhere from 30-36 miles per gallon and has an 11 gallon tank. A full tank runs about $25 dollars in Alabama. Trunk storage is very much ideal and has a large amount of storage space. Leg room in the back is nice and can comfortably fit 5 people. Storage in car is nice. Comfortableness of seats is very comfortable and steering wheel feeling is comfortable as well. Alerts when maintenance and service are always timely.

David C on May 31, 2021

Honda builds reliability and comfort.

The civic is a sturdy reliable car that is roomy and comfortable. The 2012 comes with a cockpit dash which makes it all the more roomy. It is fold down rear seat makes transporting equipment, furniture, and sports equipment quite feasible. Maintenance is basic and fuel economy is always solid.

Sara M on May 27, 2021

Easy to maintain, virtually no issues, spacious but small.

No problems with my car, I have never had any issues with it is performance, while it is a smaller car I think it is incredibly spacious and I feel safe while driving. It has Bluetooth, a backup camera, and eco mode. This is my first Honda and I can honestly say I'll be buying Honda's for years to come. It is easy to maintain, and I have never had any issues with the car. I really do love it.

Rebecca L on May 26, 2021

My car has seat warmers and Bluetooth.

Very reliable, has great gas mileage, has great features, seat warmers, not that great in snow, not that great on ice, great for road trips, Bluetooth, not that great talking on the phone through the car, can charge phone or headphones, perfect for me.

Tamara S on May 25, 2021

The car is low maintenance and it does well on gas.

I love my Honda civic. I had my Honda civic since 2011 and a travel all through America on a road trip on my Honda civic. I had no major problems with his car. I still use his car. The thing I hate the most about this car is that the pink did not laugh; however the car engine and the build of the car is great.

Honda civic - reliable and dependable.

It is not my car, but I often share it with my boyfriend. There are a lot of tire issues. The cap on the front two tires leaks and needs to be repaired. Other than that the car has had very few maintenance repairs in the past couple years, just the standard oil changes, tire changes, etc. It is also very good on gas.

Lauren H on May 24, 2021

Still in great shape after 70,000 miles!

I have had my Honda civic for over 7 years and I still love it to this date. There are so many great things about this vehicle, with hardly any cons. The vehicle has great gas mileage and has an option to turn on “eco,” which helps conserve fuel. This model also has a lot of great interior functions. Amazing sound system with multiple ways to connect. There is Bluetooth connectivity, USB, radio and CD player. The reversing camera also comes in handy almost every single day when I am driving. I would be lost without this camera, as the camera on this model shows a very large back up area. The car also has a sunroof, which is great for long drives and getting a little sunshine when the weather is good. My civic currently has over 70,000 miles and is still in great shop with no major mechanical issues.

Bill A on May 22, 2021

Nothing much. It is a good car for its job.

It is a ok cared nothing special about it. Get you to point a to point b. Also it is good I am gas to so there’s that. Another great thing is that it is pretty easy to drive and a good first car for anyone wanting to drive. Great for any teens getting their first car or for a quick car to buy.

VN K on May 21, 2021

Efficient and low maintenance vehicle.

I have had my Honda civic 2012 for about two years. It has never given me any issues really. It runs great, consumes low fuel and with a safe speed. The only problem is that when I put 100 miles per hour, I expect it to run super fast but it kind of does not which is really frustrating sometimes but I do not mind it because I consider it as a safe feature. I drove it from Massachusetts to Texas and spent only $145 on gas. I think that was huge. It takes me anywhere too.

John S on May 21, 2021

The journey of my 2012 Honda civic.

Well it is a pretty old car now so obviously it is nearing the end of the road and it is journey, but it was a very good car. It served its purpose very well, and lasted for very long. Durable car, did not ever give me many problems over the years. Lots of mileage. I would highly recommend this car to all. Since it was an older model, it did not have as many of the newer features and comforts in cars today.

Xander R on May 15, 2021

(Video) The CAR WIZARD shares the top HONDA's TO Buy & NOT to Buy!

Vehicle good performance I would highly recommend to new drivers.

Great vehicle would recommend good performance has ran for 255,000 miles and have had 0 issues so far, kept it cleaned and waved as well and shampooed the interior every 6 months, good performance would recommend good performance would recommend good performance would recommend good performance would recommend.

Nichole T on May 12, 2021

Convenient, reliable, affordable car.

It is an easy, common, accessible, reliable car. It is reliable with good mileage. I originally leased it because I was commuting long distances and needed good mileage. It is easy to maintain. The trim level on mine is very low and I do desire more features, like cruise control and power locks, not to mention more advanced features like parking assist.

Jeremy Z on May 12, 2021

Very reliable car and a great price!

Car runs very good. Transmission works great. Seats are comfortable, brakes are nice, car drives smooth. Has power windows, power locks. It has been a very reliable car for me so far as I have owned it for almost one year and I have had no problems. Easy to change oil and rotate tires. Seats are relatively comfortable as well. The eco mode is a nice touch for me because I like being able to not have to put a lot in the engine. For car that is over 8 years old, it runs as nice as the day it came off the lot.

Brian G on May 12, 2021

Economical and comfortable.

Honda civic is very reliable, does not really give me any mechanical issues. As long as you maintain the vehicle you'll have a running car. Also very economical on gas. I would recommend this vehicle to someone who is looking for a starter car. Two thumbs up.

Connie C on May 11, 2021

Silver 2012 Honda civic with great gas mileage.

My car’s exterior is not very durable and easily cracks. Regardless, I love my car. It is very reliable and super gas efficient. It is great for road trips and saves me money with econ mode. It is also easy and affordable to replace parts. My suede seats are also easy to clean.

Monica B on May 10, 2021

Honda civic 2012: visibility issues.

I like the car overall however the dashboard is pretty huge so I am situated farther back in the car. My visibility is blocked on the very left side so sometimes it is hard to see if people are crossing on that side. I contribute this to my seat being pushed back due to the dashboard being bigger. Aside from those issues, it is an easy car to drive.

Mary S on May 8, 2021

Honda civic 2012 review of car.

My Honda is great. I have owned it for 7 years and I have never had any major problems. My family is a Honda family so Honda’s are the only cars I have ever owned. Sometimes the exhilaration is slow but that is my only complaint. It is easy to drive and gets you to where you need to go safely and efficiently.

Alana I on May 7, 2021

Great for short distance trips.

Rides a little rough, has needed little work over the years with regular maintenance. Seems average, but not expensive. Gas mileage is above average, I know newer models have it beat. For the model and year, I think it is a good car. Trunk space is plentiful and so is back seat space.

Maya M on May 7, 2021

It is a good vehicle, but the paint seems cheap. I had to get it repainted.

It is reliable and comfortable. The paint for Honda’s seems cheaper because they seem to focus more on new technology for their vehicles. I like the technology and new additions to the newer Honda’s. Maybe try to make back seats for couples a little bigger if at all possible, I don't need a huge trunk personally.

Mikayla K on May 6, 2021

Very reliable, works great in all weather conditions, and is amazing with gas.

I have never had any major issues with my car, it is easy when it comes to upkeep, and I have driven it across the country several times. The inside of the car is a bit smaller, but it is comfortable for shorter people. The information on the screen is easy to access and understand.

Michael Z on May 5, 2021

My 2012 Honda civic dx sedan.

My Honda civic is very reliable and easy to maintain myself. It has high gas mileage numbers, including over 50 mpg on the freeway cruising at 60 mph. It has great pickup and acceleration for having a small 4 cyl engine. It has a very roomy interior, and when you fold the rear seat down, it has ample room to haul things. It can even hold 16, 8 ft long 2 x 4s and you can still close the trunk lid. Who needs a big old pickup truck?

DayAnni N on May 4, 2021

Reliable vehicle when it comes to speed.

My car (2012 Honda civic cx coupe) is my first car that I highly recommend for first time drivers because it is very reliable and is great on gas. The seats are very comfortable which is convenient for long road trips. I think my personal favorite is the digital speedometer because it is easier to see my speed rather than looking at a needle.

Max T on May 2, 2021

I have lights on the floor.

I have had a couple issues with the windshield wipers and the engine some oil leaks but overall I have been happy with the car it is always gotten me where I need to go, the Toyota on the other hand has a cracked exhaust it is lost a gas cap and a lot of other things.

Krystina P on April 29, 2021

The love I have for my Honda civic.

I love my 2012 Honda civic. It is a timeless car that never ages. 8 years old and my baby is still driving like it is brand new. Minor things have needed fixing and the normal wear and tear but overall I've loved my Honda since the minute I laid eyes on it. Thank you Honda for making such an awesome car.

Kyle L on April 29, 2021

Reliable 2012 Honda civic!

I drive a 2012 gray Honda civic. I bought this car new off the lot. The car currently has 185,000 miles and is the most reliable car. I do drive a lot as you can see from the mileage so it is important for me to have a reliable car. I take the car in for all appointments that come up and do not have any issues ever.

Mitch D on April 28, 2021

2012 Honda civic- most economical vehicle.

This Honda civic has been a very reliable, dependable vehicle. I have over 200,000 miles on it and I have never had any mechanical issues. I have changed the tires and regular oil changes, but other than that, no maintenance issues. Well, I did change the brakes as well but only after 200,000 miles. The leather interior is started to get damaged but only because I haven't taken care of the inside very well. It does not have a lot of pick up on the highway, so you want be winning any races with it, but at 39 miles to the gallon who cares. This is a very economical dependable vehicle.

Chris G on April 28, 2021

Excellence for an affordable price.

My Honda civic has been reliable for the last 8 years. The gas mileage is wonderful. The car gets about 40 miles to the gallon when on open road. The maintenance for this vehicle has been minimal and the car has never had a breakdown. I have had to replace the battery on the car one time but that was because I tend to leave the overhead light on from time to time. When I purchase a new vehicle it will almost certainly be another Honda civic.

Payton H on April 28, 2021

Hondas: a smart investment for a reliable vehicle.

I love my Honda! The car I had before this car broke down often, wasted a lot of gas and had little 'flair' in terms of extra features despite the car not being much older than my current car. But I have none of these issues with this car. It is great!

Aisha P on April 27, 2021

The 2012 civic seats five and is available in two body styles.

My 2012 Honda civic is a high-ranking compact car, thanks to its comfortable interior, refined ride and handling, strong reliability, and great safety scores. It is a perfect start up car. It is easy to drive from day to day and is eco friendly. Keep up with maintenance and it will be good in condition to run.

Isabelle D on April 24, 2021

Please add ac vents in your back seats'.

The Honda civic is an overall pretty good car. If I had to complain I would say the fact that there are no ac vents in the back is really frustrating, especially because I have kids and live in a hot state. I have also had recurring problems with the brake pads and I have had to replace bad windshield wipers several times.

Alex Showalter

(Video) What does this 2013 Honda Civic with Over 500,000 Miles Look Like Today?

Alex is an automotive enthusiast with over 15 years of experience in the used car market. He brings a wealth of knowledge to Vehicle History as our Staff Writer and has written hundreds of used car reviews helping buyers make informed purchasing decisions. He is a member of the Automotive Press Association, and keeps up-to-date on the latest changes in the industry. Over the years, he has driven hundreds of cars, working on many of them. His mechanical experience evolved from modifying off-road trucks as a teen to focusing on automotive electrical systems as he got older. He now specializes in reviewing used cars as an automotive journalist. Some of his favorite brands are Toyota and BMW. The Toyota Land Cruiser is one of his favorite vehicles of all time since they’re built to last forever and can go anywhere. One of his current cars is a Lexus LX570, built on the same platform as the 200-series Land Cruiser, but it’s a better value in the used market.

FAQs

How many miles can a 2012 Honda Civic last? ›

Considering that a properly maintained Civic can potentially last 150,000 to 200,000 miles, anything below 80,000 miles is considered good mileage.

Is the 2012 Honda Civic a reliable car? ›

The 2012 Civic has a great reliability rating of five out of five from J.D. Power.

What is the life expectancy of a Honda Civic? ›

Honda is one of the top brands in the world for longevity of vehicles. The Honda Civic and Accord will last between 200,000 and 300,000 miles when cared for properly.

How long will a 2012 Honda last? ›

A properly cared for 2012 Honda Civic will last over 250,000 miles, which is better than other compact cars. Regular annual maintenance costs are average for the class. Repair Pal estimates them to be $400 per year.

Does a 2012 Honda Civic have a timing chain or a timing belt? ›

All 2006 and newer Civic models don't have a belt. They come with a timing chain, which does not need to be replaced.

How many miles is too much for a used Honda? ›

Honda models, in general, are expected to last between 200,000 and 300,000 miles, which for the average driver translates to about 15-20 years of use, according to Car and Driver.

What year Honda Civic has transmission issues? ›

This recall is for the 2014-2015 Honda Civic. The CVT transmission had faulty settings. This caused excess pressure on the pulley, which can cause the pulley to break. The recall was issued in October 2015 and involved 143,676 vehicles.

Is the Honda 1.8 engine reliable? ›

Honda's R18 engine is one of the most reliable petrol-burning engines ever made. The 1.8-litre naturally-aspirated SOHC i-VTEC engine is mechanically simple and cheap to maintain.

Is 2012 a good year for Honda Accord? ›

Is the 2012 Honda Accord a Good Used Car? The 2012 Honda Accord is a great choice among used midsize cars. It aced all of its crash tests and earned an above-average reliability rating, and although the Accord's trunk is on the small side, its cabin is incredibly roomy.

Do Hondas last longer than Toyotas? ›

The Toyota vehicles also consistently last longer than any Honda. According to statistics based on consumer reports, Toyota is the second most reliable automaker after Mazda, and Corolla is the most reliable model. Honda didn't even make it to the top 10 for average reliability.

How long does a Honda Civic transmission last? ›

Tires: The tires should likewise last you from 30,000 to 60,000 miles. Transmission: The transmission of your Honda Civic can last anywhere from 120,000 to 180,000 miles.

What cars have the longest life expectancy? ›

The company found that models from Toyota, Honda, and GMC were the most likely to last for at least 200,000 miles. German luxury cars from Porsche, Audi, and BMW were some of the least likely to be sold with 200,000 miles on the odometer, according to iSeeCars.com.

Why Honda engines are so reliable? ›

Our engines are built with high-quality components designed for optimum performance in the harshest environments. But don't just take our word for it. Honda stands behind our engines with an industry-leading three year commercial warranty on all GX engines, 100cc and larger.

Is Honda Civic a reliable car? ›

The Honda Civic Reliability Rating is 4.5 out of 5.0, which ranks it 3rd out of 36 for compact cars. The average annual repair cost is $368 which means it has excellent ownership costs.

How much does it cost to replace a timing belt on a 2012 Honda Civic? ›

Belts themselves aren't that expensive. The real cost is in the labor, because a lot of parts need to be disassembled to get to the belt. Shopping around to get a few quotes is your best bet to get the best deal, but you can expect to pay anywhere from $409 to $919 (including parts and labor).

Do Honda timing chains need to be replaced? ›

Every time you use the engine, the timing chain is in use. When does a timing chain need to be replaced? The timing chain normally needs to be replaced between 80,000 and 120,000 miles unless there is a specific problem.

At what mileage should a car be replaced? ›

Typically, putting 12,000 to 15,000 miles on your car per year is viewed as “average.” A car that is driven more than that is considered high-mileage. With proper maintenance, cars can have a life expectancy of about 200,000 miles.

Which cars are better Honda or Toyota? ›

With the categories we looked at, it turns out that Toyota is the superior brand, having more vehicles, better prices, and superior reliability. However, when it comes to choosing between Honda or Toyota, Honda is no slouch either, having similar reliability ratings, affordable prices, and even better safety ratings.

Why do Hondas last so long? ›

A lot of the longevity of Civics is due to the quality of craftsmanship and focus on reliability. The engineers at Honda wanted to make a car that will always run when you need it to. Unlike other cars, the Civic isn't supposed to be a fast or high-performance car. This allows for more reliability under the hood.

What year of Honda Civic is most reliable? ›

Honda Civic's Best Years Include 2012-2015 for their Impressive Reliability and Exceptional Safety Ratings. Look for the ninth generation models, if you're shopping for a used Honda Civic. Years 2012-2015 have shown to be excellent when it comes to peace of mind.

How much does a transmission cost for a 2012 Honda Civic? ›

2012 Honda Civic Transmission Cost

The cost of a new 2012 Honda Civic transmission could be over $3,500 depending on the vehicle, however, transmission services such as fluid changes and a transmission fluid flush are considerably less pricey, in some cases costing less than $150.

How do I know if my Honda Civic transmission is bad? ›

Delayed Movement

Transmissions are designed to go into the right gear every time. If you feel any hesitation, or your car isn't moving as fast as the engine revs up, it could be a sign of a bad transmission. This is not just a vehicle concern, but a safety concern, too.

Is a 1.8 liter engine good? ›

1.8-2.0 Litre Engines

As they don't carry much weight, they can be very quick and offer a very sporty ride if that's what you're looking for. If you do most of your driving on the motorway, this size of engine could be your perfect match.

Does a Honda Civic have a timing belt or chain? ›

Honda CR-V and Civic models are equipped with a timing chain.

Does a 2012 Honda Civic have a CVT transmission? ›

The Civic Hybrid gets a larger 1.5-liter gasoline four-cylinder engine and a more powerful electric motor for 2012, a combination that's good for 110 hp and 127 lb-ft of torque. A continuously variable automatic transmission (CVT) is standard.

How many miles will a 2012 Honda Accord last? ›

The Average Life of the Honda Accord

The Honda Accord usually lasts around 200,000 miles.

How many miles does a 2012 Honda Accord get? ›

Compare Side-by-Side
2012 Honda Accord
EPA Fuel EconomyRegular Gasoline
27 MPG 23 33 combined city/highway city highway
3.7 gal/100mi
500 miles Total Range
9 more rows

What year did Honda start back up cameras? ›

Starting with the 2013 model year, all Honda Civics have come with rearview cameras.

Is Corolla or Civic better? ›

The new 2022 Honda Civic offers more passenger room and cargo space than the Toyota Corolla. The Honda Civic also has a bigger engine than the Toyota Corolla and produces more horsepower. The bigger, more powerful engine in the Honda Civic also gets better EPA-estimated fuel economy than the Toyota Corolla.

Which is more reliable Civic or Corolla? ›

As for quality and reliability, the Civic holds an impressive 76 out of 100 based on J.D. Power's predicted reliability rate, and the Corolla is close by with an 80 out of 100.

How much does it cost to fix a transmission on a Honda Civic? ›

Honda Civic Transmission Cost

The rate of a new Honda Civic transmission could be over $3,500 depending on the vehicle, however, transmission services such as fluid changes and a transmission fluid flush are considerably less expensive, in some cases costing less than $150.

What are the problems with Honda Civic? ›

13 Common Honda Civic Problems
  • Denso Fuel Pump Failure. ...
  • Honda Sensing Problems. ...
  • Oil Dilution in Honda's 1.5L Engine. ...
  • TRW Crash Sensor Defect. ...
  • Honda Vehicles with Recalled Takata Airbags. ...
  • TPMS Warning Light. ...
  • Civic Visor Keeps Falling Down. ...
  • Civic Rapid and Uneven Tire Wear.

How often do you change transmission fluid in a Honda? ›

Since fluids break down over time, it's important to change your transmission fluid every 30,000 to 60,000 miles.

What cars will last 500 000 miles? ›

While most car pundits claim that a car is reliable if it crosses 200,000 miles, we found cars that went beyond 300,000 miles.
  • 15 Volvo P1800.
  • 14 Porsche 356.
  • 13 Lexus LS 400.
  • 12 Honda Accord.
  • 11 GMC Yukon XL.
  • 10 Toyota Camry.
  • 9 Chevrolet Silverado 1500.
  • 8 Toyota Corolla.
2 Jan 2022

Which Honda Civic engine is the best? ›

1. F20C. But when it comes to the top spot on the list, the choice was a relatively easy one. As impressive as both the B and K-series four cylinder engines are when it comes to high RPM power and output per liter, there's one Honda engine that's a little bit better.

Who makes the best engine Honda or Toyota? ›

Top 10 manufacturers – most reliable engines
ManufacturerFailure Rate
1Honda1 in 344
2Toyota1 in 171
3Mercedes-Benz1 in 119
4Volvo1 in 111
6 more rows
24 Mar 2014

Where does Honda rank in reliability? ›

Honda's Reliability Rating as a brand is 4.0 out of 5.0, placing it first among 32 vehicle companies, according to RepairPal. This score is based on an average of nearly 350 different mainstream models.

What is high mileage for a Honda Civic? ›

Considering that a properly maintained Civic can potentially last 150,000 to 200,000 miles, anything below 80,000 miles is considered good mileage.

Is the 2012 Honda Civic reliable? ›

The 2012 Civic has a great reliability rating of five out of five from J.D. Power.

What is better a Honda Civic or Accord? ›

With an available hybrid powertrain, a more spacious interior, more powerful engines, and a larger trunk, the Honda Accord is the winner in this comparison over the Civic. It's not as new as the Civic or as high-tech, but for the majority of consumers, the extra space and performance are better trade-offs.

Can a Honda Civic last 20 years? ›

The Honda Civic is a durable vehicle that can last for about 20 years, with responsible use and maintenance. This means you can get around 200,000 to 300,000 miles of service from your Honda Civic before it breaks down completely.

What car lasts the longest? ›

Longest-Lasting Cars: Toyota's Land Cruiser Easily Wins the Top Spot
Longest-Lasting Vehicles to Reach 200k Miles – iSeeCars Study
RankVehicle% of Cars Over 200k Miles
1Toyota Land Cruiser16.3%
2Toyota Sequoia11.2%
3Chevrolet Suburban5.1%
14 more rows
28 Feb 2022

Is Honda Civic a reliable car? ›

The Honda Civic Reliability Rating is 4.5 out of 5.0, which ranks it 3rd out of 36 for compact cars. The average annual repair cost is $368 which means it has excellent ownership costs.

How long will a 2010 Honda Civic last? ›

Data and owner experience support that the Honda Civic is reliable. The NHTSA reports relatively minimal issues with the Civic over the last 10 years. In addition, owners of Civics between 2010 and 2015 have proven they can last 500,000 miles and more.

How long does a transmission last in a Honda Civic? ›

Routine maintenance of a vehicle at suggested service intervals from the manufacturer should keep an automobile transmission running efficiently up to 150,000 to 200,000 miles. That means that Honda Civic transmissions are lasting only half as long as anticipated.

Do Hondas last longer than Toyotas? ›

The Toyota vehicles also consistently last longer than any Honda. According to statistics based on consumer reports, Toyota is the second most reliable automaker after Mazda, and Corolla is the most reliable model. Honda didn't even make it to the top 10 for average reliability.

Why Honda engines are so reliable? ›

Our engines are built with high-quality components designed for optimum performance in the harshest environments. But don't just take our word for it. Honda stands behind our engines with an industry-leading three year commercial warranty on all GX engines, 100cc and larger.

What cars will last 500 000 miles? ›

While most car pundits claim that a car is reliable if it crosses 200,000 miles, we found cars that went beyond 300,000 miles.
  • 15 Volvo P1800.
  • 14 Porsche 356.
  • 13 Lexus LS 400.
  • 12 Honda Accord.
  • 11 GMC Yukon XL.
  • 10 Toyota Camry.
  • 9 Chevrolet Silverado 1500.
  • 8 Toyota Corolla.
2 Jan 2022

How can I make my car last 300000 miles? ›

Clean the throttle body and fuel injectors every 30,000 miles—unless a gas additive is used regularly. Change spark plugs every 60,000 miles. Replace plug wires, if applicable, every 100,000 to 120,000 miles.

Can a car last 300000 miles? ›

A conventional car can last for 200,000 miles. Some well-maintained car models will reach 300,000 or more miles total. The average passenger car age is currently around 12 years in the United States. Choosing a well-built make and model can help extend your car's longevity.

Are Honda Civics expensive to fix? ›

A Honda Civic will cost about $5,245 for maintenance and repairs during its first 10 years of service. This beats the industry average for popular sedan models by $1,851. There is also a 15.57% chance that a Civic will require a major repair during that time. This is 5.93% better than similar vehicles in this segment.

Is Honda Civic better than Toyota Corolla? ›

The Honda Civic also has a bigger engine than the Toyota Corolla and produces more horsepower. The bigger, more powerful engine in the Honda Civic also gets better EPA-estimated fuel economy than the Toyota Corolla. 31 city/40 highway/35 combined mpg rating for LX. 30 city/37 highway/33 combined mpg rating for Sport.

How long do Honda Civic alternators last? ›

You can expect most alternators to last about seven years, or between 100,000 to 150,000 miles. Keep in mind that certain factors may cause your alternator to wear out more quickly: Harsh driving conditions.

What are the problems with Honda Civic? ›

13 Common Honda Civic Problems
  • Denso Fuel Pump Failure. ...
  • Honda Sensing Problems. ...
  • Oil Dilution in Honda's 1.5L Engine. ...
  • TRW Crash Sensor Defect. ...
  • Honda Vehicles with Recalled Takata Airbags. ...
  • TPMS Warning Light. ...
  • Civic Visor Keeps Falling Down. ...
  • Civic Rapid and Uneven Tire Wear.

How does Honda compared to Toyota? ›

With the categories we looked at, it turns out that Toyota is the superior brand, having more vehicles, better prices, and superior reliability. However, when it comes to choosing between Honda or Toyota, Honda is no slouch either, having similar reliability ratings, affordable prices, and even better safety ratings.

Videos

1. Is Honda still reliable? 2013 Honda Civic review
(Automotive Antics)
2. Problems to Look Out for When Buying a Used Honda CRV
(YourCarAngel)
3. I'm Dead Serious, Stop Buying Cars with This Transmission
(Scotty Kilmer)
4. Please DO NOT Buy a Honda (Unless It Has This Engine)
(Scotty Kilmer)
5. How Long Can a Car Really Last
(Scotty Kilmer)
6. Buying a used 2012-2015 Honda Civic - here's EVERYTHING you need to know
(The Fast Lane with Joe Tunney)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Manual Maggio

Last Updated: 10/01/2022

Views: 5868

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (49 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Manual Maggio

Birthday: 1998-01-20

Address: 359 Kelvin Stream, Lake Eldonview, MT 33517-1242

Phone: +577037762465

Job: Product Hospitality Supervisor

Hobby: Gardening, Web surfing, Video gaming, Amateur radio, Flag Football, Reading, Table tennis

Introduction: My name is Manual Maggio, I am a thankful, tender, adventurous, delightful, fantastic, proud, graceful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.